Hamonious

The Lifestlye Blog of "HaM"

Sex and the City Cake!

 

I’ve always wanted to bake a cake. Heck, I’ve always wanted to be as good as the Cake Boss and have my own place called Allura’s Sweets and Treats but the truth is, I haven’t baked before. The first time I baked a cake, it went miserably wrong and I used the wrong oil and it was miserable. I don’t know why it never occurred to me that I should have read and become a little more educated on baking, but that disaster didn’t stop me.

The thing is, when I suck at something or I am bad at something, that makes me annoyed in a way. My dad always taught me that I can do whatever I wanted in this world and that I would do it well. All I had to do was work hard and keep striving. Well, why not cakes? You have to start somewhere and learn from the mistakes you make right?

SO, I present you my first REAL cake, made from scratch by me! Yes you read right. SCRATCH. No pre-made box. I made the cake, I made the buttercream frosting, I made the fondant. YES…ALL OF IT!

The cake was a plain white cake, the fondant was a marshmallow fondant and the buttercream was nutella flavored (YUM!).

Here’s a couple things I learned along the way since I am a cake newbie and anyone just like me would probably appreciate these tips. Please don’t laugh if you are an expert. I am cake illiterate, but I am creative and persistent so will become good at this.

Mistake #1: Make sure the cake is completely flat and level after you frost all the layers.

Mistake #2: Don’t add the layer of fondant on top of the buttercream until it is DRIED.

Mistake #3:Fondant takes a LONG time to dry and when making something as delicate and small as a heel, try gumpaste next time. My heel was breaking all over the place by the time it got to where it needed to go. The car ride did not help either.

Mistake #4: DO not bake the pans next to each other because it takes LONGER to bake

Mistake #5: Get the right tools. I literally do NOT have ANY real decorating tools so that’s something I am looking toward buying so it will help these cakes look more professional.

Cakes are VERY time consuming. This took FOREVER to make so I understand why cakes are so expensive now! Goodness, for the price you pay and the work they put in, I will never complain about an expensive cake ever again. You really get what you pay for. Those professional bakers (which I hope to be one day) are spending hours of their time with all the details of a cake. I think the pricing is fair for what they are doing.

What do you think about my first cake?

ca_08111421422960

ca_08111421425300

ca_08111421415343

4 comments on “Sex and the City Cake!

  1. Samiya Osayed
    August 19, 2014

    Whoa this ones a killer… πŸ™‚ I jsut baked an entire dessert table for my daughters bday.. and I can relate to ur cake stories… urs turned out really well.. I just did the Olaf three D tier cake… πŸ™‚

  2. Samiya Osayed
    August 19, 2014

    I think il bake this one for my party πŸ˜€ if u dont mind… πŸ™‚

    • hamonious
      August 19, 2014

      Thanks for the kind words! Please let me know how your cake turns out! I don’t mind at all and would love to see yours! I did an easier Olaf cake that I’ll post about later but he was Very hard to do!

  3. kim
    August 19, 2014

    That looks like an expensive cake. You did a good job. Second career??

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2014 by in Recipes, Supermom and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 68,038 hits
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow on Bloglovin
