Hamonious

The Lifestlye Blog of "HaM"

Green Smoothies REVAMP!

After having my second baby, I decided to be healthier while I was nursing. I read a lot about the green smoothie trend and hopped right on!

I bought myself a Vitamix from Costco, some frozen bags of fruit, and some fresh spinach! I even bought some protein powder to keep myself full until lunchtime and to have some breakfast in my stomach since I am a horrible breakfast eater. For the first two months of getting the machine, both my husband and I felt healthier and more energized! It actually was great! I was getting up early before work to make sure I made a smoothie for myself and kept it going.

Then things got busy! Work was getting more tiring and my body was getting tired and the more tired I got, the less I made green smoothies again (ironic since if I kept it going, I’d be MORE energized). Eventually, we stopped.

Now, I am back on it again and really trying to get my energy up and since summer is almost here, why not? It’s the perfect time to drink smoothies and start working out again.

My hubby and I bought a giant bag of spinach from Costco and I made prepackaged bags of smoothie portions ready to be put into the blender! It is the perfect solution to us not having anytime. I even wrote on the bag what we needed to add to make it a yummy smoothie.

My favorite recipe are as follows

ORIGINAL GREEN SMOOTHIE –
2 cups spinach/ kale, 1 cup strawberry, 1 cup banana, 1 cup grapes, 1/2 cup ice, add protein (optional)

BERRY BLEND
2 cups spinach/kale, 1 cup berry blend, 1 cup cranberry juice, add protein (optional)

MANGO A GO GO
2 cups spinach/kale, 1 cup mango, 1 cup banana, 1 cup orange juice, add protein (optional)

Any variation of these smoothies is perfectly fine, but you really need to know what works for you. I always try to throw in a banana if possible because it really does blend well and it also helps sugarcoat the consistency of the “green” in the drink.

ca_05121418560431

ca_05121418561861(1)

 

ca_05121418563061

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2014 by in Recipes, Supermom and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 71,828 hits
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow on Bloglovin
