Hamonious

The Lifestlye Blog of "HaM"

Hallway Makeover Part 2 – Black Doors!

I wanted to show you how black doors can really turn a boring house into a warm home. I love black doors. It is so scary to paint a door black. Really…it is BLACK, but I LOVE how they turned out and can’t wait until I have some time to finish the upstairs bedroom doors.

First off let me start by saying that I used BEHR Ultra’s Black Suede on my doors. They were the PERFECT color. Not too black, but black enough and they worked amazing with my walls which are painted BEHR Ultra’s Anonymous.

I researched on Pinterest first to see HOW to paint a door and this is the picture that gave me the directions I needed.

ca_04291421074731

Then, I just followed the directions and here is what my doors looked like.

ca_04291421081055

ca_04291421072555

ca_04291421071491

ca_04291421070389

ca_04291421065148

Here are some hints that will help you along with the process

1. You will need to pre-tape the inside of the doors and lay newspaper or a drop cloth down so painting can go quickly.

2. The bevels of the door that you are to paint FIRST are supposed to be painted with a foam brush or a good paintbrush. It did not work for me at all and the lines were showing. Luckily, I had an edger that they sell at Dollar Tree that is the PERFECT size for the bevels and worked AMAZINGLY well.

3. 3 layers…doesn’t matter if you THINK 2 layers is sufficient, 3 is insurance and what you see as a perfect door will probably still have white spots after the 2nd coat. Remember, three is key to an amazing door.

And of course here is the process put all into one picture for easy viewing.

ca_04291421075946

Last but not least, the BEFORE and AFTER photo. White doors be gone!!

ca_04231422013483

What do you think? Are black doors in or out?

32 comments on “Hallway Makeover Part 2 – Black Doors!

  1. dawn miller
    October 7, 2015

    I will be having my husband paint our doors down stairs then we will do the one up stairs. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Nikki
    October 22, 2015

    What is the name color of your walls

    • hamonious
      October 22, 2015

      Hi Nikki,

      The color is called “anonymous” by Behr. Hope that helps.

      • Michelle
        April 25, 2016

        Love this look
        What is your trim color

  3. Shelby
    October 23, 2015

    Is the door painted on both sides or just one? Love the idea.

    • hamonious
      October 23, 2015

      The front door is only painted on one side because I live in an association but the other doors are all painted on both sides.

  4. Serena
    November 28, 2015

    Do you have to sand the doors first?

    • hamonious
      November 28, 2015

      I think you can sand the doors of you would like to help the paint adhere a little bit better but I just went for it for all my doors and they are still holding up strong.

  5. Kera
    December 3, 2015

    Did you use a Flat, eggshell, Semi????

    • hamonious
      December 3, 2015

      Hi Kera,

      Pretty sure I used semi- gloss because I have 2 toddlers who are crazy so it needs cleaning. I would not recommend flat unless that’s the look you are going for. I think it’s just preference. I hope that helps!

      • Liz
        May 29, 2016

        What color paint did you use on the doors? And you did not sand?

      • hamonious
        May 29, 2016

        Hi Liz-
        The color is Black Suede by Behr and I did not need to sand the door and they’ve held up fine. I know Behr changed their colors recently so they will color match the old name. I’m not sure what it is called now.

    • hamonious
      September 29, 2016

      I did semigloss!

  6. Cindy
    February 18, 2016

    Is this an oil based paint? (I really don’t like using oil based paint) I heard that for better wear and tear, oil base paint is better on interior doors. True or false?
    I’m ready to get started.

  7. jennaberthoud
    May 11, 2016

    How did you get around your hinges?

  8. Mary Kathryn
    August 11, 2016

    Did you do this on all the doors in your house or just in that hallway. I have a hallway that is very similar. there is 3 doors that line one wall. I want to do it in that hallway, but not anywhere else in the house. The other hallway is across the house. Just wondering that the “design” rule might be.

    • hamonious
      September 29, 2016

      I only did it in the hallway and my upstairs is still white!

  9. April
    September 29, 2016

    Beautiful tutorial and home thank you I have had a pail of black paint sitting in my basement afraid to take the plunge for 9 months now. Thanks to your post I’m ready to dive in this weekend. Thank you thank you thank you!

  10. Angel
    October 2, 2016

    Thank you for this idea. Am in the process of doing mines now and it’s turned by out so pretty.

  11. Angie
    October 6, 2016

    Did you paint both sides of the door? I’m seriously considering doing ours too.

    • hamonious
      October 6, 2016

      Yes I did and they worked out great!

  12. javabossmom
    October 9, 2016

    Is this a paint & primer, like you’d use on walls? And did you seal w/any kind of clear?

    • hamonious
      October 9, 2016

      It’s paint and primer in one. No seal needed. Just two coats to make sure it’s even.

      • javabossmom
        October 9, 2016

        Perfect! Thank you!! I already have a black paint & primer I used to do some accent walls in my master bath…will use the same color on my doors! 😃👍🏼

  13. KARA PIERACINI
    October 17, 2016

    what about closets? did you paint closet doors in those rooms black as well or leave them white?

  14. Tina Eschbach
    October 30, 2016

    You have two different names of the paint you used! Anonymous in beginning and Black Suede both by Behr. Can you remember which one it was I love the look. Going to start mine in a day or two.

    • hamonious
      October 30, 2016

      Black suede is for the doors. Anonymous is the gray wall color. Someone had asked so I included that but if you are only painting doors. It is black suede.

  15. sparksgrl
    January 25, 2017

    I have had this tutrial on my Pinterest pages for eons. My husband is opposed, so I let it go. Now we are having one of our worst Winters in eons, guess what I’m going to push for black doors. Not only that I’m going to paint my hardware too. So There.

  16. Ruth
    May 8, 2017

    Great job! I like it

  17. Laura Killion
    May 24, 2017

    Hi, Great job!! Your doors look great black.
    What type of paint did you use?
    Thanks,
    Laura

  18. Christen
    August 17, 2017

    They look amazing! Thanks for the inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2014 by in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 81,562 hits
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow on Bloglovin
