Hamonious

The Lifestlye Blog of "HaM"

Hallway Makeover Part 1 – DIY Board and Batten

I have been slaving away during Spring Break to redo our hallway/ entry way into our home. Lucky for me hubby was also home during Spring break and it was nice to have help. With one week off to vacation, we made sure that we left the house to do something fun everyday and work the other half of the day. It took a lot longer than we anticipated because we had to take turns watching the kids at the same time.

First off, let me just say that we have a very normal hallway. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it but living in a small house makes me want to monopolize the space and make it functional and have a statement.

I decided that the white doors will be BLACK and the longest wall will become a “board and batten” with hooks for keys and jackets.

Here is what our hallway looked like initially.

ca_04231422004998

The process is super SUPER simple. I read tons of tutorials through Pinterest and the pictures gave me enough ideas of how to do it. I will do a brief summary with pictures of how to do it.

Materials Needed

1. Lattice from Home Depot
2. Moulding/ ledge of choice
3. Paint Color of your choice and painting supplies
4. Hooks
5. Nail gun
6. Caulk & Glue

Steps of Board and Batten

Step 1 – CUT, PREPAINT, NAIL, and CAULK BATTEN.

Decide the dimensions of your board and batten. If you need to add a “board,” you would want to see another bog or post since I used the existing wall as the “board.” ALl I did was paint my wall white and made it my “board.” My wall has texture and I ideally would have wanted to add boards on the wall, but I really did not want to move my existing baseboards. I cut my lattice from home depot to my preferred length and bought moulding that would act as the ledge. I basically nailed and down with glue on the back and voila. Finish it off with caulking along the edges to make it look professionally done. Also fill the nail holes with caulk to prepare for paint.

ca_04231422003970

ca_04231422001813

 

Step 2 – SAND and PAINT EVERYTHING

After everything is up, sand the dried caulk from the nail holes and any uneven space. Once smooth, paint your heart out with whatever color your decide. Let me just say that you want to be prepared for the multiple types of brushes and rollers you will need for all the difficult edges.

ca_04231422012117

Step 3 – INSTALL HOOKS

Buy the hooks of your choice and install them. I initially wanted coat hooks and decided on the double hooks instead since the coat hooks were a bit large for my wall.

ca_04231421591531

ca_04231421525620

ca_04231421515391

I was going to initially do a photo ledge with different size frames, but ultimately opted to just reuse the frames we already had in the house and make it more simple and symmetrical. Please excuse the pictures that are not vertical. Because we were reusing frames, we have to re-pick out pictures for the vertical direction. Picking pictures for the frames are the hardest part!

If you noticed, all the doors are now painted black and I will post a future post on how to paint interior doors black. In the future I would love to switch my recessed lighting into some cool hallway chandeliers. Maybe something modern and chic?

And of course, we need the before and after picture.

ca_04231422013713

What do you think of my new entryway? Let me know your thoughts!

 

5 comments on “Hallway Makeover Part 1 – DIY Board and Batten

  1. Le
    April 24, 2014

    LOVELY my dear! I was thinking of doing this for my boys room with all the wood panels covered, yours it’s quicker with just individual dividers.

  2. Leslie
    April 28, 2014

    You did a great job. That looks amazing! I’m stopping by from the blog hop & I’m a new follower. I hope you have a great Tuesday.

  3. palmtreesandpeas
    May 2, 2014

    Awesome!

  4. madelynsfry
    May 23, 2014

    looks great!! I would be so scared to do black doors, but WAY to take the plunge. the bead board looks so good as well.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2014 by in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 68,038 hits
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow on Bloglovin
