Hamonious

The Lifestlye Blog of "HaM"

DIY – Upgrading IKEA Malm Dresser

IKEA furniture is usually seen as cheap and generic furniture, but I love IKEA furniture. It is affordable, easy to build, and customizable. From painting over furniture to adding knobs and pulls, IKEA furniture allows for custom made furniture similar to those of high end furniture stores. You can find tons of cheap, used IKEA items on Craigslist for half the price. I have been looking to some MALM dressers on craigslist for awhile since they meet the size requirement I was looking for in a nightstand/ dresser, but I realized that I did not want used and imperfect tables. I decided to buy new and add some custom pulls I bought on Etsy. Here are the supplies you will need to put the pulls on the dresser. photo(17) You basically measure the holes where you would like them to be and drill! It is fairly simple and an easy fix. I have 12 pulls and did it in 2 hours but I had NUMEROUS interruptions from the kids and I tried to keep them out of the danger territory. TO make it easier, I held up a vacuum as I drilled so I woudn’t make a mess. I am such a neat freak when it comes to my bedroom! Here is a picture of the finished product? photo(15) Here is a close up of the pulls. photo(16) And finally, we have to have a before and after picture of course! What do you guys think?? photo(14)

9 comments on “DIY – Upgrading IKEA Malm Dresser

  1. musingsfrompvd
    March 27, 2014

    Cute! Very interesting hardware.

  2. Christina
    April 2, 2014

    I’m totally crushing on those handles!! I love your blog, so I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! I’ve posted the details in this post: http://operationhomeblog.com/2014/04/02/a-leibster-award-woo-hoo/

  3. angelastafford
    February 22, 2016

    Where did you buy the pulls?

  4. carla
    February 27, 2016

    the handles are on etsy, how should i search?

    • hamonious
      February 27, 2016

      I would search for drawer handles with maybe the word Chinese? It’s been a while so I can’t rememeber. Sorry!

  5. Brandi
    February 29, 2016

    Hi! I love what you’ve done and am going to try and duplicate it 🙂 I ordered the pulls from etsy and they arrived today. I’m curious how you drilled the holes into the dresser since the screw holes are flush against the dresser–how could you see the holes & know where to drill? Hope that question makes since, thanks in advance!

    • hamonious
      February 29, 2016

      I measured from the back and drilled outward if that makes sense.

      • brandi
        February 29, 2016

        hi there – thanks for getting back to me. yep, makes total sense. I’ll have the hubby try doing it that way. the dresser was already assembled when you installed the pulls?

  6. Pingback: 20 Brilliant IKEA Malm Series Hacks - Simply Stacie

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2014 by in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 81,562 hits
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow on Bloglovin
