Hamonious

The Lifestlye Blog of "HaM"

Countdown to 30! Looking back at my 20’s Part 1

I am turning 30 this Friday, February 7, and all I can think about is how AH-MAZING my 20’s have been! I have jam-packed so many things in the past ten years that I wonder what the next ten years will hold! So, before I take the time to look FORWARD to my 30’s, I want to look back at the past decade of my life and reflect on all the wonderful things I have seen, done, and lived so that it gives me more perspective into how I would like to continue to live in my thirties.

Part 1 is going to be my TOP 5 memories from when I was in my early 20’s (20-25) and Part 2 will be my memories from my late twenties (26-29). In no particular order:

#1 – Graduation

One of the largest accomplishments of my twenties is graduating from UCSD with my Bachelors of Science at the age of 21 and my Masters at the age of 23. I still remember a huge weight lifting off my shoulders once I finished school and it was the first time I felt like my life has truly begun.

dsc_0013

#2 – First Career

I worked 5 jobs simultaneously while still in school trying to make ends meet. I could not be more excited when I received my first job offer to work at the continuation school in the district near my home. I was a little hesitant at first, but I am so glad I took it because here I am 8 years later working in the same position! Below is a picture of my first year teaching! I was so young as a 22 year old teaching 17-18 year old high school students!

img_0690

#3 – Engagement/ Wedding/ Marriage

I got engaged at 23 and married at 24. I had always wanted to get married young and have children young because I was that girl who was type A and wanted to grow up at 100mph. I met my husband when I was 19 knew from the day that I met him that he was THE ONE. The 20’s should be a time to experiment, learn, and get to know yourself and I spent most of my time in love with my husband. We had a crazy 500 person wedding with people attending we didn’t even know. It was a typical wild Asian wedding and I will make sure when I get to 30’s and we have our vowel renewal, it will be a VERY small number of people in attendance. It wasn’t until I hit my late twenties did we experience “growing pains” in our marriage and had to learn to work to grow together as we changed individually. It has not always been easy, but who said marriage was easy in the first place? Still one of the best and still is the best experience that I will continue to enjoy the rest of my life. Below is the some of my favorite pictures of my husband and I.

ht 099

ht 210

#4 – First of Many!

First Car – check! Felt great to pay for my first car with my OWN money. I have since paid off my Lexus IS250 and it is 6 years old now. It’s still in great shape and I am going to continue to enjoy driving it for the next decade!

First home – check! We bought ourselves a nice 2 bedroom 2.5 bath home near both our workplaces. Although small, it has been a wonderful place to live!

Everything seems like a first when you in your twenties. I bought all my furniture and appliances for the first time and it was the first time I had SO MANY BILLS! It was definitely a first of many!

#5 – Travel, Travel, Travel

Something I had the privilege of doing a lot of in my twenties was TRAVEL! There are so many wonderful places that I’ve been to, but the following are probably my favorites!

Costa Rica, Thailand, China, Jamaica, and the Caribbeans are just some of my favorites. I’ll leave you with some of my favorite pictures from my travels. There are SO many pictures to choose from but these pictures are just a slice of what I experienced.

 

img_1669

img_1538 dsc_0334

dsc_0119

dsc_0067

Part 2 of this post will be TOMORROW!

2 comments on “Countdown to 30! Looking back at my 20’s Part 1

  1. Patricia
    February 6, 2014

    Love your posts! Always so well thought out 🙂

  2. Pingback: Countdown to 30! Looking back at my 20′s Part 2 | Hamonious

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2014 by in Family and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 77,074 hits
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow on Bloglovin
