Hamonious

The Lifestlye Blog of "HaM"

Weaning off Breastfeeding/ Exclusively Pumping

Who knew that I would have the OPPOSITE problem that a lot of women would want to have. I have enough milk for my son stored up where I can now officially stop pumping. WOO HOO!! No more being tied down to a machine and living my life to the intervals of a clock!

I wish it were that easy to just stop, but unfortunately, I’ve trained my body so well to produce milk at perfect intervals that if I do not pump, I am dealt an uncomfortable dose of hard lumps, swollen breasts, and pain. Because I am a teacher, life revolves around a VERY strict work schedule so in order to keep that schedule, I had to work my daily life around that. My previous schedule looked something like this.

12am, 3am, 6am, 8:45am, 12:10pm, 3:30pm, 7:30pm, 12am again

I used Thanksgiving break to take my every 3 hours pumping session to approximately 5 hours apart. It was a success, but I still was not sleeping through the night since work schedule and sleep schedule did not quite go together. My schedule looked something like this.

10pm, 3am, 8am, 12:10, 4:30pm, back to 10pm. I think that’s improvement.

During Christmas break, I had two weeks to extend my pump sessions from 5 hours to about 8 hours apart. My new schedule looked like this.

10pm, 6:30am, 8:45am, 3:30pm, 10pm.

I was unhappy I had to pump at 6:30 and 8:45 but I needed to make sure I wasn’t uncomfortable while teaching so I made sure I was empty. I was just happy NOT to be pumping during my short lunch period anymore! I still wanted to drop more sessions so my next step was to leave my pump at home completely. My new schedule was down to 3 sessions.

10pm, 6:30am, 3:30pm.

I can proudly say that I am now on a 12 hour schedule of just 6am and 6pm.

Tonight, I am going to just STOP. My doctor says that cabbage leaves on your breasts for 6 hour intervals for a total of 24 hours will allow me to completely stop. Not sure what that does but I will take the advice! I am looking forward to packing that pump away.

It’s been a love hate relationship exclusively pumping but I can say I am EXTREMELY proud of myself. I worked SO HARD to make sure my son had the best thing for him, which was my milk. Every ounce of milk, pain, discomfort, time, sweat, and tears were all worth it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 31, 2014 by in Breastfeeding, Supermom and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 75,117 hits
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow on Bloglovin
