Hamonious

The Lifestlye Blog of "HaM"

DIY – Upcycle Kitchen Cabinet Doors to Amazing Accent Wall!

photo(14)

This project was a GINORMOUS task and it has been almost a YEAR in the making! Last March, I took my dad to Habitat for Humanity’s Restore near my house to look for some recessed lighting supplies and walked past a pile of small kitchen cabinet doors priced at $1. An idea immediately popped into my head of using those cabinet doors on the wall to create a textured wood accent wall. I thought the idea was so cool but knew my husband would think I was crazy so I just bought 2 doors and figured the worst that could happen is that I would lose $2. I showed my husband when he got home from work and the first thing he did was remind me that I was 7 months pregnant. Oh yea, that’s right. I was heavily pregnant with my second son and here I was thinking about plastering wood kitchen cabinets to my bedroom wall??

Either way, I kept thinking about the idea and it haunted me for a few days. I finally decided to just go for it and have no regrets. I would buy it and work on it AFTER I had the baby. I calculated everything out on “Notes” on my Iphone after measuring my bedroom wall and figured out what I needed. photoThank goodness for my supportive dad because he did not question me and went with me on a Tuesday afternoon so I can use his “Senior discount.” I wish I had taken a picture of my cart filled with these kitchen cabinets and my car because it looked like I was a crazy pregnant lady and I probably was!

The 158 cabinet doors sat there for the next 9 months in the garage collecting dust. During that time, I ended up in the hospital for preeclampsia, gave birth to Owen, had laparoscopic surgery, went back to work, and way too busy to think about the stack of wood on the side of the garage.

During Christmas break of this year, I finally was so sick of my poor money wasting decision and the eyesore in the garage that I decided I was going to make it happen. Initially, my plan was to stain it with gel stain since I had already tested 2 cabinets out. If you look at the following pictures, you can see the original oak color and then the actual stain color I wanted it to be.

Supplies Needed:

  1. Wood cabinet Doors
  2. Measuring Tape
  3. General Finishes Gel Stain (Color Java)
  4. Socks
  5. Gloves
  6. Masking/ Painter’s Tape
  7. Heavy Duty Loctite Contruction Adhesive
  8. Caulk Gun
  9. Miter Saw
  10. PATIENCE..A LOT OF IT!

Step 1:

Measure all your accent wall and find the center. Start by gluing your cabinet smack on top and center with adhesive in the caulk gun. Then tape it. I found that when you tape it diagonally, it stays much better. Continue down to the bottom of the wall as far as you can go. Next, start a new row until the entire wall is filled. Lastly, measure and cut the last pieces of wood to fit your wall with the miter saw. You can see my original color at the top that I wanted, but I was so scared about the time involved that I ended up wanting to paint over everything. I would strongly recommend staining EVERYTHING before gluing and not doing it the hard way like I did.

photo(17)photophoto(2)photo(3)Step 2:

Once completed, being staining. Like I mentioned above, I did this the HARD way and backwards because I was indecisive and my husband talked me back into staining all the wood instead of painting over it with white paint. Thank goodness for the hubby because I loved how it turned out. The following pictures show the first, second, and then THIRD layer of stain. Just make sure to follow the directions and allow the stains to completely dry between coats. Apply thin and know that it will look better as you go. I used the sock method which was put a glow on, put a sock over the glove, dip into the stain, spread the stain, and then wipe off. I learned a lot of technique through Pinterest. I have not yet done the polyurethane coat over this and will but I am just so excited to be this far along!!

FIRST LATER OF STAIN IN MIDDLE, NO STAIN AT TOP

photo(5)

 2ND LAYER OF STAIN DOWN MIDDLE ROW, EVERYTHING ELSE 1ST LAYER

photo(4)

 SECOND LAYER OF STAIN COMPLETE

photo(6)

AND THE FINAL PRODUCT…

photo(13)

photo(12)  photo(10)

photo(9) photo(8)

HERE’S A CLOSE UP

photo(7)

AND FINALLY, THE BEFORE AND AFTER PICTURE

photo(14)Please leave any questions or comments below! Thanks for reading!

3 comments on “DIY – Upcycle Kitchen Cabinet Doors to Amazing Accent Wall!

  1. lisa lopez
    January 25, 2014

    Michele, this turned out beautiful. You did such a great job. Congratulations for a job well done.

  2. TamiMc
    January 26, 2014

    Looks gorgeous!!!

  3. Pingback: DIY – Upgrading Ikea Frames with Gold Leaf | Hamonious

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 25, 2014 by in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 71,636 hits
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow on Bloglovin
