Hamonious

The Lifestlye Blog of "HaM"

DIY Painted Banker Boxes As Solution to Stockpile Clutter!

One year is how long it took for my couponing stockpile to start taking over my tiny 2 bedroom house. I had trouble sorting similar items with different brand names and because I was not an EXTREME couponer, I did not have 20 bottles of shampoo to line up beautifully like on TLC’s “Extreme Couponing”. Instead of a beautiful stockpile, I found things to be cluttered and disorganized. As a person who is extremely Type A, I had a hard time figuring out how to deal with the mess! The solution I came up with was to “group” items together into categories and label them. I knew what my two main needs were: a bin to hold all the products and a labeling system that could be changed frequently since my “inventory” changed constantly. I saw a Staples ad that had banker boxes for “free” by getting 100% of the price you pay back in rewards to spend so I thought it was the perfect solution! The only problem was that they were not too pretty, but that can be easily fixed!

These are the exact Staples banker boxes that I bought. I assume it would be easier to buy the white ones to paint, but only the recycled ones were 100% Staples rewards so that’s what I went with.

Staples Recycled Banker BoxesI used regular acrylic craft paint that you can get at any craft store. The brand I used was Apple Barrel, but I am sure Crayola paint or any generic brand will do. I googled painting on paper prior to actually painting the boxes because they were, after all, cardboard which is recycled paper. Most information I read indicated that painting on cardboard was not a good idea since it will absorb any type of paint and just wet it. Nevertheless, I went for it anyway and it turned out not too bad! You will need to paint multiple layers to cover up the color. It is also important to wait for the paint to dry in between coats so it will harden and keep the box from being flimsy. I painted the box and the lid to make it look uniform and I used multiple colors because I initially wanted a gradient effect with the boxes, but I went for fun multicolored boxes instead. After painting with the acrylic paint, I used chalk paint around the perimeter of the box and it worked perfectly. I have had the boxes for a couple years now and the paint and chalk have held up nicely even with me dragging the box around the garage at times. Here is the final result. I wish I took more pictures during the process but with a little one and the boxes drying all over my garage, it was a bit chaotic!

Banker Boxes HaM

Pin It!

Hope you guys like my storage solution!

* As little background into how I got into couponing. After I had my first son Hunter, I was up every 2 hours pumping milk and feeding so I had a lot of free time in the wee hours of morning. After seeing an episode of Extreme Couponing on TLC, I thought, “Why not me?” My dad has always taught me that anything is possible if you put your mind to it, so I spent all the free time I had in the middle of the night researching how to begin couponing. I credit TheKrazyCouponLady and Hip2Save who taught me how to coupon.

One comment on “DIY Painted Banker Boxes As Solution to Stockpile Clutter!

  1. 3boyzmommy
    January 11, 2014

    Love Love Love this idea! Easy and affordable! It’s so easy even I could do it! I love my stockpile, but I can’t stand how it makes my shelves look.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 78,527 hits
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow Hamonious on WordPress.com
Follow on Bloglovin
